Skip to content

In the Beginning…

September 29, 2009

blog_author_bar_jon

First I must admit, and it will become apparent by the end of this entry, that Darren is more articulate than I will ever be.  With that being said, in this entry I will give you an introduction to the start of my passion for traveling, a little about myself and how I will try to add my own unique perspective to Travelverse.

jon_niagara

Visiting Niagara Falls on one of many RV adventures

jon_rv_trip

In the Carlsbad Caverns during another RV trip

How did my passion for traveling start?  I was stuck in a cramped RV for months at a time with my family. I know- being in an enclosed space with your family for hours at a time, driving on deserted highways does not sound enjoyable. I love my family don’t get me wrong, but there were times when it was miserable.  It is also not the most romantic start to a life long obsession, however, it did instill in me that traveling can be liberating.  It offers you the freedom to go anywhere and the chance to make countless lasting memories.  Read Darren’s “Travel Blueprint”, get lost and you’ll see what I mean.

Darren and I share the same passion for traveling but we have different reasons to traveling.  Mine are food, history and art.  For Darren it is playing with underage boys, and all things that are illegal in all 50 states.  I joke, but seriously he does play with little boys… See his Travel Blueprint blog on Venice.

Our mutual passion may stem from the unique experience of studying abroad in college.  Our weekend excursions were never planned. We would get off the plane/bus/train with our backpack and see what the city had to offer. We were never swayed by what a travel book says is a “must see” or a so called “tourist trap”. If it wasn’t interesting, we would move on to something that was.  Life is too short to see the uninspiring, which is why I started my own “Bucket List”.  I get made fun of a lot for having a so-called Bucket list at 24 years old, so I am renaming it to “Shit I got to do before I die” (the title is a work in progress).  My thoughts in creating this list is why should you start at 70 years old to do the things you wanted to do your whole life?  I will share my list and my experiences on this blog in hopes that it will inspire you to go out and live it up.  I’ll be publishing bits and pieces of my bucket list in a regular series called “Shit to Do,” so maybe you will even choose to do a few things on my list.

I leave you with this quote that sums up how I feel about traveling.

“If you reject the food, ignore the customs, fear the religion and avoid the people, you might better stay at home.” – James Michener

Side note: I will have to start taking more pictures now that I am writing this blog.  I usually don’t take pictures because I believe it takes you out of the “moment”. I am going to make this sacrifice for you, the reader, so be thankful.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Vicky permalink
    September 29, 2009 11:04 AM

    I like your “Bucket List Theory.” It REALLY doesn’t make sense to wait until the latter part of your life to discover all that you want to do.

    With that said, you’ve inspired me to come up with my own “Shit I Got To Do Before I Die List”

    #1: Come up with a better title for that list…

    Can’t wait to see excerpts of yours 🙂

  2. jonmarcotte permalink
    September 29, 2009 11:14 AM

    Vicky- Like I said, the title is a work in progress. You are more than welcome to help me come up with a better title or I will just steal the title of your list 🙂

  3. September 29, 2009 1:37 PM

    I actually like the title of your list; it’s simple, to the point and sounds like something I’d use.

    I disagree with you – to a certain extent – on that shooting photos takes you out of the moment. I actually think it does the opposite because it forces you took look at things from different angles, which in turn increases the potential of seeing something new.

  4. Mike Brazil permalink
    September 30, 2009 8:13 AM

    Hi Jon,

    Nice blog ! I have always tried to take photos in my mind when I travel. If something special strikes me, I just stop, really concentrate on my surroundings, take in the smells and sounds, listen to the conversations taking place or the sirens from the “polizia”… that type of thing. Like right now, I can pretend I’m sitting on St. Germain Blvd at a small cafe and watching the people go by as I sip on my latte. Or, I can vividly remember one night at Fort Ross when Darren and I were on an overnight school trip. We woke up at 2 in the morning to handle our “guard duty”. As we walked outside, we looked up and saw the sky filled with millions (maybe billions) of sparkling stars. The sky was completely covered with them. A moment with my son I will never forget ! By the way, in that photo of you and Nicole at the Carlsbad Caverns,
    who is the guy in the background with a mustache, sunglasses and long hair ???
    Think I saw someone last week in NYC who looked somewhat like him !!!

  5. jonmarcotte permalink
    October 1, 2009 1:11 PM

    Fidencio- I agree with you that taking pictures allows you look at things with a new or different perspective, but I believe this is only true if it is a stationary object. When you are behind the camera the event or “moment” is taking place in front of the lens. To me, it feels like you are detached from what is taking place around you when you are behind the camera. I would rather be the one in the picture running from bulls, etc. 🙂

  6. Nicole permalink
    October 11, 2009 2:41 AM

    I thought your first blog was funny and honest. I like the family pictures! The RV trips were miserable at times, yet I do know that they were wonderful and rich experiences. I still have fond memories of the places our parents took us. I am looking forward to more of your blogs.

Leave a Reply

