Skip to content

Travel Log: Vietnam, Part I – “Farewell, USA” (10 October 2009)

October 11, 2009

blog_author_bar_jon

“Travel Log” is a series of blogs written and published by Travelverse writers during their travels – making their thoughts, emotions and critiques even more raw, current and in the moment.

10 October 2009

“Bro, lets just plan it when you get here… we can book tickets for you very easily.  Just be ready for Vietnam!!!”

forrest-gumpSo that’s the message I got from my fraternity brother four days before I leave for Vietnam.  I have a flight to Saigon (Ho Chi Minh City) and two weeks later I depart from Hanoi to SFO.  Within that time period I have to figure out how to get 1,726km (1,072 miles) north.  Right now I am imagining myself as Forest Gump; shaggy, tattered clothes and with a beard because I had no other option but to run north. Of course that won’t happen, but I can’t help imagining it. Random thought – I know Darren recommends getting lost in Venice, but I wonder how he would feel about being lost in Vietnam?

I seriously have no hotel or travel accommodations booked for the entire two weeks. I know I will be crashing for two days at my friend’s place, but other than that I have no idea what I am doing.  It is a little exciting and scary at the same time. It excites me because it will be an adventure and a really interesting experience. The scary part is that I do not have anything booked ahead of time in a country that is vastly different than my own. I feel like having anything booked would give me some sense of security. Being out of my comfort zone will be good for me.

I have done my research and I know what I want to see and where it is, for the most part, and I have my visa so I have that going for me. I will let you know how my adventure goes because I will be trying to blog as I go from my iPhone, so stay tuned to Travelverse for my updates. I have no idea how well this will work, but we will see – I guess everything about this trip will be an adventure.

jon

My visa for Vietnam

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Samantha Samsonite permalink
    October 12, 2009 2:16 PM

    Jon,

    You are a brave soul. So many of the boys I grew up with got an invitation to go to Vietnam, but declined (of course, that was in the late 60’s, early 70’s–you can figure out why!) Looking forward to hearing about your adventure.

    Sam Samsonite

  2. October 13, 2009 11:18 AM

    Ah, you’re lucky. I’m sure it’ll be a sweet experience and I look forward to your blogs.

Leave a Reply

