Skip to content

Shit to Do Before I Die: Go to Space

October 13, 2009

blog_author_bar_darren

That’s right, I said it… I want to go to space.  No, I’m not an astronaut nor do I have any ambition to become one.  Plus, I’m not even a scientist of any sort so I can’t think of a reason as to why NASA would need to put my ass in a rocket; so where do I get off stating I want to go to space and why on Earth do I feel I could possibly still achieve this goal one day?  Two words…

Virgin Galactic

BransonAstroMOS_468x321Oh, Richard Branson, you crazy SOB – you’re amazing.  Granted, the $200,000 price tag is a little steep right now, so I’m banking on 1) like all technologies it gets less expensive over time, 2) I make Jeter-like money or 3) Sir Richard himself reads this and realizes how important and profitable a Travelverse blog review of his spaceline’s inaugural voyage would be; thus, he personally invites me for a ride.  You pick which option sounds most feasible.

Nonetheless, I still want to go.  I’ve always viewed things with a very broad perspective and constantly tried to look at the bigger picture, which is one of the reasons why I love to travel.  As different and unique as every person and culture is on this planet, there are few things more harmonious than when you can share a similarity between an absolute stranger – someone from a completely different background who is seemingly your opposite.  It’s human nature – we are social beings and interactions are as necessary to our survival as eating and breathing.  We strive to build relationships because it makes us feel understood and not alone in a world where it can be easy to get lost amongst all the different outlooks and beliefs; yet, through all these conflicting ideologies, two constant commonalties remain: we are all human and we all share the same home – Earth.  So I can’t imagine any more beautiful of a sight than seeing the entire world, all of its inhabitants and distinctions in a single field of view, and the euphoria of physically seeing one of the things that binds us all together.  I could actually see the bigger picture.

So, what do you say Mr. Branson – got an extra seat?

earth-image

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2009 11:32 AM

    You better start making that Jeter-like dough soon!
    A trip to space would be pretty cool, and if I had a few million to splurge I’d be right up there with the Cirque de Soleil guy right now.
    Anyhow, start saving up!

  2. darrenbrazil permalink*
    October 13, 2009 11:42 AM

    Maybe I went a little too far with having to make Jeter-money… I’m sure Jorge Posada or Mark Teixeira-money would be enough, too. Haha.

  3. Vicky permalink
    October 13, 2009 11:43 AM

    SO WELL SAID. If one didn’t know any better, they’d think you were taking notes during your interpersonal communiocation courses.

    I really hope that one day you get to make the trip because I have a feeling that your review of the experience would be priceless!

    • darrenbrazil permalink*
      October 13, 2009 11:52 AM

      Shhhh, Vicky, don’t tell anybody I actually listened in school… but took notes?! Whoa, slow down, that’s asking for a lil much.

  4. Mike Brazil permalink
    October 13, 2009 12:04 PM

    Thank God you at least listened Darren as those were expensive lectures !!!!!!

Leave a Reply

