Skip to content

Shit to Do Before I Die: Take the First Flight Out

October 30, 2009

blog_author_bar_darren

I don’t do well driving by airports.  It’s like passing a bottle in front of a rehabilitated alcoholic – and yesterday I almost took a swig.  It wasn’t my fault, really, fate put me in the situation, but I suppose that’s just the reasoning of an addict…

Thanks to the recent closure of the Bay Bridge, my daily commute across the San Francisco Bay has been detoured to the San Mateo Bridge, an inconvenience that not only makes my drive longer but brings me face to face with my addiction.  Like an alcoholic walking into a bar where drinks are being poured and shots being taken, I had to fight the temptations of the roar overhead, the scent of jet fuel in the air, and hell, even exit signs pointing me where to get my fix.  I had to drive through the neighborhood of my “supplier” – San Francisco International Airport (SFO) – and believe me, I was on the brink of a relapse.

sfo_at_night2

San Francisco International Airport (SFO)

One of the many aspects I love about my addiction to travel is the freedom to just get up and go.  When stripped bare and down to the core, it really is just as easy as buying a ticket – everything else can be sorted out along the way, if necessary – and one day, I fully intend on living up to that train of thought.  Without any preparation and hardly a care in the world, I want to drive to the airport, walk to the ticket counter and tell the attendant, “I’ll take the first flight out.”  Anywhere.  It doesn’t matter.  I want to truly test fate and see where it takes me.

Traveler

Even that luggage is too much planning for what I want to do...

Like every addict, they reach a point in their rehab when they want to test the waters and see how far they’ve come.  Maybe it’s going out for a night or seeing former friends from troubled times, but in my case it’s driving past that damn airport, and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want to relapse just a bit.

I suppose I’m not ready to be cured yet, and I don’t think I ever will be.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 30, 2009 6:25 PM

    Good blog. I feel the same way when I drive by airports. Just the other day I had to wait at a railroad crossing by my parents house because an Amtrak train was passing by. It immediately jump started my need for travel and I wished I was on that train.

Leave a Reply

